How soon can get I get divorced?
Once a divorce has been filed, South Dakota law requires a mandatory 60 day "cooling off period" before a divorce can be finalized.
Detectives have contacted me. Do I have to talk to them?
You have the right to remain silent. You should talk to an attorney to help you make this decision.
How much will it cost to hire an attorney?
Each case is different. We offer free consultations and will discuss fees with you on a case by case basis.
I've been served with a protection order. Now what?
First and foremost, it is absolutely essential that you follow the terms of the protection order. Typically, the protection order prohibits any contact with the individual(s) who obtained the protection order, even if they contact you. We can help make sure your rights are protected.
What is a typical sentence for a DWI?
A DWI offense is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence under law of 1 year in jail and / or a $2000.00 fine. There is also a possible license revocation of up to one year. A typical first offense DWI sentence does not normally involve actual jail time. You can expect that you will lose your driving privileges for at least 30 days, and that you will have to pay a fine and costs. What your sentence will be, if convicted, depends a number of circumstances.
I have a case but it is not in Sioux Falls, can you still help me?
We are licensed to practice anywhere in South Dakota, in both state and federal court.
DISCLAIMER: The law will vary depending on your state and the specifics of your case. The information provided on this website is intended for educational purposes only. All the content on this website should not be considered professional legal advice or a substitute for professional legal advice. For such services, we recommend getting a free initial consultation by a licensed Attorney in your state.